Searching for an amen…

There were a lot of amens.

There were punctuation mark amens.

Amen. AMEN! Amen?

The double amen.

Amenamen.

Scriptural amens and sentiment amens.

Rapid-fire amens coming at you faster than you could figure out what you were supposed to be agreeing with.

Like I said, it was a lot of amening, even if most of it was coming from one lone voice it was enough that the word is still echoing in my ears days later.

Isn’t that amen one of the things that we are all searching for? Someone to hear about our experiences and the various emotions that they evoke, someone to share the thoughts buried deep in our mind with, someone who can respond with an amen.

Not many of us are blessed/cursed with a horde of yes-men, and that is how it should be, but how valuable it is to find that person that you can come together with in agreement.

confluence20color20pittsburgh20mount20washington20surnise-x2

The thirst that we can feel for relationship and community is in many ways a search for amens. There are the simple amens, like those who can somehow understand why I would start a Christian blog and name it after a brief passage in Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. There are experiential amens, like those that I have had the privilege of finding here and elsewhere, to amen the frustrations of dealing with the concepts and realities of the church. There are the emotional amens that can be shared with close friends and family while mining the dark corners of our heart, that can affirm that we are not evil or weak for feeling the things that we do.

Sometimes when our minds are running ragged or our hearts are burning cold one of the most blessed things we can have in the whole world is someone to tell us that they understand.

A friend once told me that it is those times, the times when he felt that he was understood, that he felt most loved. I can call out a hearty amen to that statement. It was a statement from a brother that revealed something about myself that I had not quite realized before.

Amen is not a casual or coercive word to be thrown around to make us seem spiritual or to drag others along behind our words. Amen is an intimate statement that can be spoken to signal our agreement with God and our agreement with one another.

Amen is that word of affirmation and support when coming alongside a friend.

Amen is a word of submission to a holy God, a way of saying “your will be done”.

Through our life of amens to that God, we are being conformed to the image of the one who is himself the Amen. Jesus, “the faithful and true witness”.

I appreciate those here with whom I have been able to share an amen. Those amens help both in the effort to live a life as an amen to God and to find my voice again when the amen is caught in my throat. 

6 thoughts on “Searching for an amen…

  1. ….and then you go and write a beautiful post that makes me want to shout “Amen, brother!” but it would be too cliche, too obvious…

    Something I have to watch in myself is trying too hard for the amen, instead of saying what I actually think/feel. For that reason, it often takes me 20 minutes or more to write a comment.

    • Actual amens are very visceral for me. If you catch me with a simple auntie word “Amen” response somewhere, it generally means that it touched on a very deep truth for me… or I’m goofing around… but normally the first one.

      I am overall probably a little too quick to speak, but I feel like I’m rarely dogmatic, so I might say the first thing that comes to my mind on something, but be willing to drill down into it or even abandon it through conversation.

      That has probably resulted in me saying some dumb things over time, but that serves to temper my ego, right?

    • I remember reading Finding Church, and while I didn’t agree with everything in it, a giant weight was taken off my shoulders to find out that a lot of the thoughts going through my head weren’t so crazy as they seemed, and that there were other people who felt the way that I did. I don’t know that it gave me a lot of answers, but it certainly affirmed a lot of the questions that I had.

      The simple reassurance that I was not crazy was worth the price of admission… which I think monax bought it for me… so worth his price of my admission.

  2. to delight and be delighted..

    to love and be loved..

    to know and be known..

    to understand and be understood..

    what greater ends are there for man to have??

    doesn’t God Himself desire to be delighted in, to be loved and known and understood?

    we’ve been created after the image and likeness of God.. even recreated after the image of Christ our righteousness.. possessing now His heart and mind and Spirit.. so naturally our loves and desires and lives find sweet affinity with His..

    From Jeremiah..

    Thus says the LORD: “Let not the wise man boast in his wisdom, let not the mighty man boast in his might, let not the rich man boast in his riches, but let him who boasts boast in this, that he understands and knows me, that I am the Lord who practices steadfast love, justice, and righteousness in the earth. For in these things I delight, declares the LORD” (9:23-24).

Leave a Reply

