A Thought Experiment for a Wordless Night

I am going to admit to something here…

I have writer’s block.

I have about three half-formed, and completely terrible, posts in the works, so I’m going to try something new.

There are now a few people that follow this blog and comment, so I would like to pose a sort of thought experiment. This is one that has come up in our weekly Bible study a few times, and I am fairly certain that I can’t take credit for it.

If you were to jump in a time machine and visit any person from biblical history that is not included in the godhead, who would it be? And why?

forest_police_box_w1

I’m actually going to save mine for the comments as well, but I look forward to seeing what others have to say on this topic.

 

35 thoughts on “A Thought Experiment for a Wordless Night

  1. My first thoughts- Solomon, to discuss wisdom. David, to discuss unrestrained worship, what it means to him, how it affected him and his relationship with Elohim. Sarah, to rejoice with her over her pregnancy. Noah- gotta ask him why he didn’t kill those pesky mosquitoes!! 😂

    • Solomon and David are definitely excellent choices. As off character as this might be for me, I think that I would lean toward David in examining his heart for worship. David is such a raw and emotional person as seen through the Psalms, and when I get raw and emotional it generally comes out in less than productive ways. I think he would have a lot to teach me about such things… not that the wisest man who ever lived wouldn’t. 😉

    • I can definitely get on board with that one too. We have been reading Acts lately and a couple questions have come up about how Paul treats certain situations. The one I addressed in my last post in the circumcision of Timothy. It really speaks to the degree to which Paul considered the context of the community that he was entering into when he approached people with the gospel or dealt with people in general. That being said, I think that a lot of the more troubling things (for us) that Paul has written are deeply steeped in the context of the community that he is addressing. Not all of those things can be explained away in context, but it is surprising how many of them can be significantly softened by it.

      • And it seems, depending who you talk to, it’s understood so differently. The passages on marriage for instance, how many ways can you translate “submit” or how many views are available on that specific set of verses in Ephesians 5?

    • does our machine go forward in time? cause if i’m gonna drop in on Paul i’m visiting that bro in the Millennium.. though, i confess, i’m more interested in seeing how the Belgian beers taste and what sort of bicycling racing there is than anything..

      • We might have to save that one for another night that I can’t get the creative juices flowing… I actually kind of like this, might have to work it into the rotation.

        • okay.. then i’ll drop in on Enoch and see what he was up to yesterday.. but he’s with God so our time machine needs to locate the Holy Mountain, the Jerusalem above, the other mother of us all.. do we have the coordinates?

  2. I admit this is kind of cheating, but I would want to catch one of the guys who were on the road to Emmaus and get their account of what Jesus had to say here:

    “And beginning with Moses and all the Prophets, he interpreted to them in all the Scriptures the things concerning himself.” (Luke 24:27 ESV)

    • also, since its a time machine, i’d go back to the garden of Eden before the mother of us all was deceived by the serpent and discuss with Eve the wisdom of God.. for obvious reasons

      • That’s actually really good. Being able to get a perspective on a pre-fallen world. It’s incredible how much of what we perceive of God has to do with our own sin in one way or another. It would be amazing to get a view of who God is from someone who didn’t even know that perspective existed.

  3. Dallas, your question really made me think… and then realise how much I’ve changed over the years. I’d love to talk with Rahab – to witness her unshakeable conviction of God’s sovereignty; or with Job – to explore his revelation of the Redeemer long before Jesus came; or with Ruth – to appreciate the loyalty and love she displayed for her adopted people. I’ve heard lots of sermons explaining what other people think of these ‘bible characters’. Guess I’d love to hear the personal stories straight from them.

    • Rahab was actually part of my daughter’s bedtime story rotation tonight. 🙂

      One of the things that I like to dream on, is that we will have that opportunity in eternity… on the other hand, who knows, maybe our interest in these types of things gets wiped away along with the tears… but there is that future speculation that I was hinting on a later post on.

      • “Rahab was actually part of my daughter’s bedtime story rotation tonight.”

        There’s something poetic that so many of the people in the bible stories we read our children fall way outside our own ‘moral code’. If they turned up in our churches today they’d be met with fierce opposition and disapproval from the ‘good christian folk’ who attend.

        • It’s a little less poetic when we realize that most children’s bible storybooks are pretty whitewashed to take away most of the meaning in the stories. I know that I am holding an impossibly high standard for a kid’s book, but so much is lost by telling the biblical stories in “heroes of the Bible” fashion.

          Let’s just say that after being really impressed with The Jesus Storybook Bible, I am less so with our current one.

          If we all had to be honest and open when we came together, we might be surprised how far most of us fall outside that “moral code” as well. 🙂

  4. Samson. I want to see if my guess is correct that he was a scrawny, nerdy kid with a Jew-fro. If he was a ripped body-builder, why would he need the spirit of God to slay Philistines? Also maybe he was such a womanizer because he could finally get the girls that made fun of him in Hebrew school.

    • Kind of like the question of how Superman, with the latent ability to lift a truck over his head with one finger, managed to find things that were heavy enough for him to develop muscles.

Leave a Reply

