Thoughts (Stolen and Otherwise)

Disclaimer: Political opinion lies ahead.

  • Despite my best efforts to the contrary, I have recently managed to be pulled into political discussion during this election season. This article was recently shared in the course of those discussions:

    Voting Third Party is the Electoral Equivalent of Sending Thoughts and Prayers

    The analogy put forth in the article (which is fairly clear from the title) is that voting for a third party candidate in the coming presidential election is about as useless as sending “thoughts and prayers” to the families of mass shooting victims.

    Let’s lay aside for a moment for a moment the thought that prayer is equated with doing nothing in the face of tragedy.

    There is an assumption in the article that by voting for one of the major party candidates we are doing something positive for the country moving forward. There are many, though, that think that handing over the presidency to either of these candidates is a destructive act in itself.

    To these people, if voting for a third party is like praying for the families of mass shooting victims, then voting for one of the major party candidates is like purchasing guns for the gunman.

  • Wayne Grudem is one who has made a similar argument in support of voting Donald Trump. I’ll have to check my copy of his systematic theology, but I’m pretty sure that Grudem doesn’t equate prayer with doing nothing.
  • David Barton, which is a name that I was not aware of before this election, apparently thinks that people are looking for a perfect candidate. He even goes so far as to compare Trump to Jesus. I might be wrong, but I think that what people really want is a candidate that they don’t have to be embarrassed to vote for in the present, or worried that they will be horrified for having supported in the future.
  • Using comparisons to Hitler to win arguments on the internet is so five years ago. I have moved on to making comparisons to super villains.
    xlarge
    What? Lex Luthor is a successful businessman AND he is tough on illegal aliens.

    If anything, no hair is definitely a step up from whatever Trump has going on up there.

  • “What a child does when not told what to do is the final indicator of what and who that child is.” ~ Dallas Willard

    This quote, in a way, sums up what I dislike about the desire that some in Christianity have for controlling behavior through political means. Jesus Christ offers us a covering that allows us to not be judged for our sin, but for his righteousness. It seems at times that there are those of us who would prefer a covering of law which obscures the wickedness in our hearts, rather than the covering of Christ which turns our hearts toward God.

    Essentially, some of us don’t care who the child is, as long as they do what we say.

  • I have been reading through the book of Acts lately. It is not a book that I have spent a great deal of time on in the past, so I loved coming across Acts 13:10.

    “You son of the devil, you enemy of all righteousness, full of all deceit and villainy, will you not stop making crooked the straight paths of the Lord?”

    Paul is referencing a concept here that I love [Isaiah 40:3, Matthew 3:3], and using it in a way that I love to use it.

    It’s also a great self-diagnostic tool to ask yourself, “Am I making crooked the straight paths of the Lord?”

    jago-jesus

  • I want to make a book recommendation that is a little outside the box. My wife and I have been using The Jesus Storybook Bible by Sally Lloyd-Jones as a bedtime book for our daughter. She is only 18 months old, so I’m not sure how much she really gleans from it, but it has been a wonderful accidental devotional for us.

    The illustrations are enough to satisfy my inner art critic, and the stories are thoughtfully presented and entertaining, but more than anything, each individual story is gospel-centered. You can really do a lot worse than to be reminded every day around 8PM of all that Jesus has done for you.

10 thoughts on “Thoughts (Stolen and Otherwise)

  1. I love that book and still have it for my 9 year old. That book is so great. Every story account leads back to needing a savior. It’s the best!

  2. It seems at times that there are those of us who would prefer a covering of law which obscures the wickedness in our hearts, rather than the covering of Christ which turns our hearts toward God.

    Spot on.

  3. I love it. Some family of mine is aghast at Hillary, claiming she’s “Wickedness Personified.” This because of a story that came out “for the first time!” about how she successfully defended a child rapist. The funny thing is … that’s what defense attorneys do for a living so we have a lot of “wickedness personified” out there. Plus, The Donald has been sued for child rape, regular rape, and so on. I’m pretty sure his status of unrepentant sinner is rightly viewed as “wicked,” as well.

    I think you nailed it about people’s derision of prayer. I love it when people say “thoughts and prayers.” That’s actually revealing that they believe it is synonymous with the pagan notion of creating some thing with our collected thoughts (thought forms).

    I was thoroughly dismayed by Wayne Grudem’s article. While he knows theology, that displayed poor discernment, IMHO. I think Donald goes well beyond just being “flawed.”

    • I posed this question recently, if a two party system presents us with two unelectable candidates who gets elected?

      If early reactions are any indication, I’m pretty sure that we will just end up redefining what “unelectable” means.

      When Obama ran, he used a lot of messianic language, sure Trump had “make America great again” but most of what I’m hearing from both sides is, “at least I’m better than that dumpster fire over there”. Very encouraging.

    • Yeah, like I said, it wasn’t a name I was previously familiar with, but definitely an ardent supporter of the cognitive dissonance that this election has been inspiring.

Leave a Reply

