I Am

The gospel of John records seven “I am” statements made by Jesus;

“I am the bread of life” (John 6:35)

“I am the light of the world.” (John 8:12)

“I am the door of the sheep.” (John 10:7)

“I am the good shepherd.” (John 10:11)

I am the resurrection and the life.” (John 11:25)

I am the way, and the truth, and the life.” (John 14:6)

I am the true vine” (John 15:1)

About the most I can do in describing myself is to paraphrase a sentiment usually attributed to G.K.Chesterton in saying that;

 I am what is wrong with the world.

I write a lot on here about what is wrong with the church, what is wrong with Christians, or how we could do this thing or that thing better. I probably won’t stop doing those types of posts, but I also need to rest in the knowledge that the life that I have the most influence over is my own.

The most comforting part of all of this is that because of the “I am” that is described throughout the gospel of John, and all of Scripture, there will not always be a something that is wrong with the world… and a day will come when even I can’t screw that up.

13 thoughts on “I Am

  1. אֶהְיֶה אֲשֶׁר אֶהְיֶה

    ehyeh ašer ehyeh

    “I AM WHO I AM”

    This was the name Yahweh Elohim gave to Moses for the children of Israel to know Him by in Exodus 3:14.

    So in John 8 when Jesus plays with this name and then finally tells the Pharisees flat out that “before Abraham was, I AM,” they took up stones to kill him for saying as much, for He was identifying Himself as the LORD God of Israel.

    In John 18, the night before He was to die, when they came for Him in the garden with weapons and torches Jesus asked them, “Whom are you seeking?”

    “Jesus of Nazareth,” they answered.

    “I AM,” He answered.

    And they all fell back to the ground.

    Such was the power of I AM.

    • Yeah, I have to admit that I was just riffing on the “I am” repetition rather than the real meaning of the passages. On the upside there are links to a lot of great scripture up there is anyone wants to click out to some good stuff.

      • He who said, “I am the light of the world,” is also the One who said, “You are the light of the world.” I find comfort in that. Keep on shining, my friend! Glad you’re back to frequent postings.

      • reflecting on your Chesterton and then back to those times in my life when I was what was tragically wrong with the situation or relationship. All I can say is, “My God, I was so broken! . . . and yet still am.”

        still, I’m comforted by His Word that reminds me how He makes His home with those who are broken of heart and crushed in spirit. So there’s that.

        and there’s these Bill Gaither lyrics from childhood that also comforts me:

        Something beautiful, something good
        All my confusion He understood
        All I had to offer Him was brokenness and strife
        But he made something beautiful of my life

  2. I feel that way too. It’s hard to want things to change when I’m unwilling to change myself. The problem is I can get a little too self-focused and end up with anxiety. Because at the end of the day, God is the one that changes me, molds me, makes me. I have to seek him and obey, but I have to also trust him too. It’s a balance of both. I can want to change myself and even try with all my might to do just that, but I also have to rest in the knowledge that Christ is good. Thanks for sharing this.

    • This is probably just about as close to works based as I get I think.

      I admitted in the comments on another blog that self-justification has been a theme for me lately. We look outside, say how awful the world is, and feel a little better about ourselves. It doesn’t do a lot of good… if we look at ourselves and see where we are broken and allow God to work that out within us we become more and more capable of making our little parts of the world a little less miserable.

      I also find that if I pull my head out of social media and news sites that the world doesn’t seem nearly as nasty as it does through those lenses… so there’s that too.

      • I actually haven’t been going on Facebook as much for this very reason. Too many people complaining about the state of the world, arguing over gun control, trump vs. Clinton, blaming parents for alligator attacks, ect. It’s just crazy! And my introverted brain cannot take it. So I unplugged last week. My blog posts automatically go on my page on Facebook which is nice but then I felt like I needed to check for comments. Otherwise, I didn’t go on there really at all. Free up the brain space! So then I ended up reading more and praying more. It helped to be off of there.

        • I was off for about ten months, but felt like I kind of needed to be back on if I was going to start posting again. I’ve weeded a fair amount of websites out of my feed so that I don’t get it that much. It can still be heavy at times.

    • I enjoyed the contrast and play on words of thinking that while Jesus used “I am” to declare that he was one and the same as God Himself, that Chesterton used those same two words to show why we needed the “I am” in the first place.

      I don’t think I used either in their intended context, but I did enjoy the interplay of ideas that they symbolize. Thanks for stopping by. I’ll have to check out some of your stuff soon.

      • Thanks a lot then. In the verse right after John 8:58, the Jews try to stone Jesus for saying “I am”, and they try to stone Him clearly for claiming to be God. We are also told earlier in the chapter, in John 5:16-18 that the Jews are trying to kill Jesus for claiming to be God in the first place. If you in fact will check out my stuff, it will be greatly appreciated — I always enjoy someone reviewing my stuff and a potential follower.

        • I plan on it, just don’t have the time at the moment. There was a while there where I put some stock in the words of people who said that Jesus never claimed to be God, but after very little personal research it turned out to be a pretty ridiculous claim. Look forward to checking it out.

Leave a Reply

