Thoughts (Stolen and Otherwise)

I haven’t done one of these in a while, so I just want to start with a shoutout again to Phoenix Preacher and Echoes and Stars whose posts from this genre I thoroughly enjoy, and whose blogs I stole this idea from.

1. The site Babylon Bee seems to have gotten really popular lately. At the very least, it has shown up quite a bit on blogs that I follow along with social media. For those who haven’t had the pleasure yet, it is a satire site styled after The Onion but with a Christian slant to it. I admit that I have enjoyed most of what I have read there, but my mind keeps going back to a youtube video that I saw a few years ago featuring two guys in a Christian rap battle, ripping each other apart and giving the reasons that the other is obviously going to hell. In both cases, it is obviously supposed to be all in fun but the sneering, cutting nature of them can leave you feeling a little soiled afterwards.

2. A friend of mine recommended, and I have been reading, Watership Down and I have to admit that my daughter and I spent more time than normal with the rabbits at the pet store this week. Also, bunny t-shirts for a one-year-old can be pretty cool.

rabbit

3.  “So if you are offering your gift at the altar and there remember that your brother has something against you, leave your gift there before the altar and go. First be reconciled to your brother, and then come and offer your gift.” (Matthew 5:23-24 ESV)

I read a Facebook post earlier this evening trying to convict those who have left the church after abuse that they are wrong for having broken fellowship. There are many places in Scripture that encourage and even command us to forgive, but the passage above puts the onus on the wrongdoer to seek reconciliation, not shame on the wronged for being out of fellowship with the one who wronged them.

4. “If a thing is worth doing, it is worth doing badly.”G.K. Chesterton

If there were ever a tagline for this blog.

5. David from Spiritual Authority wrote a follow-up post to one of my favorites. (On Church Leadership)

6. My wife and I have both chosen to stick our heads in the sand for the next week, and not expose ourselves to the dark, depressing world that often creeps around on the internet. In other words, no thoughts on politics this week.

7. I am blessed to have someone to bounce my blasphemies off of. It allows me to sift through the things that I believe and strengthen those things that have proven to be weak. Even better, occasionally those blasphemies turn out to be far less blasphemous than I originally thought.

8. There is no substitute for being in the physical presence of and interacting with fellow believers, but the internet has given me the gift of fellow believers that struggle with some of the same things that I do. It is very comforting to find out that I’m not completely out of my mind.

9.  “Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.” (Philippians 4:8 ESV)

The flip-side of number 6, and probably the more healthy option. Fill yourself with light rather than fleeing from the darkness.

10. I have a birthday coming up next month, so if you are looking for gift ideas I could use grace. I need lots of it, and could use some that I can spare so that I can give it to others.

That’s all I’ve got for now, but I have really been enjoying the opportunity to write again lately. Like most muscles, it seems to work better the more often you use it so hopefully there will be more to come.

5 thoughts on “Thoughts (Stolen and Otherwise)

  1. that was fun to read..

    and thanks for the mention..

    more G. K. Chesterton..

    “It is perfectly obvious that in any decent occupation (such as bricklaying or writing books) there are only two ways (in any special sense) of succeeding. One is by doing very good work, the other is by cheating.”

  2. Point no. 3 resonates for me.
    I have a broken relationship with a person I would have liked to be reconciled to. In spite of my efforts, the other party does not have a willing heart. For a long time it troubled me deeply to attend Mass knowing I was incapable of getting this situation ‘right with my brother’.
    What to do when relationships fail because of another person’s abuse, hard-heartedness or unwillingness to make things well?
    There are limits in getting to the bottom of our disagreements with others if the offender is unrepentant. Your treatment of this verse was much appreciated.

    • I’ve reflected on this verse in the past about how many preachers would consider their sermons to be an offering to God, and wondered how many silent churches we would have if we all took that verse seriously.:)

Leave a Reply

