… and that has made all the difference

A well worn path is not always the surest way to your destination.

..

Beautifully overgrown and natual.

There was a gap in the wall.

I can’t even quite explain how I had noticed it in the first place. It was nearly invisible to anyone that might pass by, but I was drawn to it, so I slipped through.

On the other side of the wall, I found myself in a forest. It was obvious that I was not the first person to have found this gap in the wall, however all but the first few steps of the path were covered in overgrowth of bramble and thorns.

But there was a path.

It wasn’t like the trails that I had followed in my youth, more like a deer path than anything, but there was a path.

Those were the first tenuous steps that I took on that path, it is now one that I have been traveling on for some time. At many points in my travel it has not been at all obvious that there has been a path at all, but in some places I see evidence that someone has traveled this way before me.

A foot print.

A broken tree branch.

I am following a path, yet it is also becoming increasingly evident that I am following a person. The path that I am traveling is only there because the steps that I take are echoing those of another.

From time to time I might run across a well worn path in this forest. A large crowd of people had obviously been using it for years. They had dug fire pits, and I can see where they had pitched their tents along the path at night.

I occasionally find myself tempted to follow this well worn path. I might run into others to share my journey with. The way forward is certainly clearer, there are fewer questions as to where my next step will take me.

I look across the path.

The one that I have been following has clearly passed it by.

The way has been lonely, and it has not been easy, but the one that I have been following has yet to lead me astray.

I cross the path, and continue on my way.

They are both winding paths, perhaps they will cross again.

“For the gate is narrow and the way is hard that leads to life, and those who find it are few.” ~ Matthew 7:14 (ESV)

3 thoughts on “… and that has made all the difference

Leave a Reply

