Thoughts (Stolen and Otherwise)

As is probably obvious by both the number and frequency of posts on this blog, it is not ever day that I have a thought that is full formed enough to write at length on. I do, however, have quite a few half formed and fleeting thoughts.

A couple of my favorite regular posts to read are “Things I Think” over at Phoenix Preacher as well as “Thursday’s Random Thoughts” over on Matt B Redmond’s blog, so I thought I might steal the concept (thus the title) to use as a brain dump, and some exercise with my writing which is still within its infancy.

  • Speaking of infancy, my wife and I are expecting our first child any day now. Obviously my wife is more directly affected by the waiting that I am, but it is both a very hopeful, and a somewhat frustrating time. It brings me to mind of Advent season, which is really our life as a whole. There is a time coming that is going to change everything for us, and it’s something that we anticipate and long for, but it’s not here quite yet… so we wait.
  • I started a Twitter account (@dswoager) a few weeks ago, and have found that, by and large, people use Twitter for much the same reason I wanted to… shameless self promotion (surprise). This makes me terribly behind the times, I’m sure, but I don’t think that I quite get how it works yet, though it has been surprisingly useful for supplying interesting blogs and articles.
  • For someone whose book I half read, and didn’t really appreciate very much, I really enjoy a lot of what Tullian Tchividjian has to say. There are many good teachers out there, and a lot of good conversations to be had, but often his focus on grace is just refreshing.
  • I stumbled into multiple conversations about baseball in the last week with people that I would generally only have Christian blogs in common with. Most people who know me even fairly well (including Google apparently) know that baseball, as a passion, is a solid number two after God and his word. Pitchers and catchers report in less than two weeks, and my neighbor and I are already back on more than a “hey, how’s it going” basis.
  • When I start seeing a trend in article subjects it has a tendency to pique my interest. Last week I noticed quite a few people writing on the subject of worship music, which prompted me to write this. This past week there were a ton of articles that dealt, in one way or another, with money. I, like most people I think, hate talking about money, but if the comments sections on these articles are any indication, it’s a conversation that we need to be having.

Hopefully the next time I get around to updating this page I will have moved on to that great new role of Dad, so prayer for my wonderful wife, myself, and our as of the writing unborn daughter are greatly appreciated.

2 thoughts on “Thoughts (Stolen and Otherwise)

  1. God bless you and your wife as you begin the most wonderful and adventurous journey of being a mama and daddy. Enjoy all those snuggles and cuddles. They are gone way too fast.

    • Thanks, Anita. We have been so blessed by so many people in our lives just in the run up to our daughter being born… and to think that the greatest blessing is still to come. Seriously can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

